Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
FBC & FBCR 2020 (7th Ed), NEC 2017 , 2018 FFPC ( NFPA-1 & NFPA 101-2018 7TH ED)
The Florida Building Code states that the “code is to establish the minimum requirements to safeguard the public health, safety and general welfare through structural strength and to provide safety to fire fighters and emergency responders during emergency operations”.
A permit shall apply to the construction, erection, alteration, modification, repair, equipment, use and occupancy, location, maintenance, removal and demolition of every public and private building, structure or appurtenances connected or attached to such buildings and/or structures.
The cost of a permit varies depending on the permit type. Building permit fees are determined by the valuation of the project in most instances. Contact the Building Department Permit technician at 407-656-4111 ext. 5136 for specifics and details on permitting cost.
The Building Official will issue a notice to obtain a permit. Once a permit is applied for the cost will be triple the fee for an after the fact permit. If no action is taken, a Notice of Violation will be issued and could result in fines being levied.
You do not necessarily have to have a Contractor, if you own and occupy the house. Florida statutes allow the owner of real property to act as their own contractor. This exemption may only be used if you own and occupy the home. As an owner builder, if you do not complete all of the work yourself, you must supervise the work, and hire licensed trade subcontractors (Electrical, Plumbing, HVAC, and Roofing, etc.) in accordance with state law. You will also need to sign and submit an Owner/ Builder Affidavit form as part of your permit submittal process.
Ask for and check references. Ask to see their state license. Check the number on the state web side myflorida.com for any complaints filed with the state. Also ask for a copy of their workers compensation and general liability insurance. If they ask you to pull the permit, “beware”, they may not be licensed, which puts the homeowner totally at risk.
Depending on the workload, and if all required documents are provided and no revisions are required, a building permit can usually be obtained within ten (10) business days.
Minor projects are normally approved, or additional information requests can be issued within five (5) business days. The time may be shorter if all required documentation is submitted correctly.
The list of required inspections is located on the permit placard. Instructions on scheduling these inspections will be provided when a permit is issued.
It is the applicants (Owner Builder/Contractor) responsibility to ensure that all required inspections are made prior to proceeding with work on the project.
For new residential & commercial buildings, once all fees are paid and all required inspections are completed, the Owner/Contractor will be issued a CO (Certificate of Occupancy) or upon request a COC (Certificate of Completion) for smaller projects can be given.
Permits expire and become null and void if work is not started and an inspection requested within 180 days from the issuance date of the permit. After work has begun the permit will expire when work is suspended or abandoned for a period of 180 days. Lack of an approved inspection within this time will serve as validation that the job has been suspended or abandoned. Approved inspections will extend the permit six (6) months. An extension may be granted if a written request is submitted to the Building Division for review.
Permits are submitted and picked up in the Winter Garden City Hall 1st floor, located at 300 West Plant Street, Winter Garden, FL 34747
A construction drawing or plans must be submitted with a complete application. These construction drawings or plans must show all proposed work and details of compliance to building codes and zoning ordinances for most residential projects. Plans that are incomplete will be returned.
No construction is allowed until the permit is issued. Once the permit application and accompanying plans have been submitted, following approval of the plan and payment of fees, the permit may be picked up at the Building Department located downtown in the City Hall Building at 300 West Plant Street. A special request in writing for permission to start early may be submitted to the Building Official on a case by case basis.
The type and number of inspections depends on the project.
If a change is desired to a project, a revised set of plans must be submitted to the building division that clearly shows the revisions in relationship to the approved plans. The revisions must be approved by the building division. Plans Examiner and an approved copy must also be available on the site prior to the next inspection.
Once a permit is issued; construction must begin within 180 days. If this time period is passed, the permit will automatically expire and an extension must be requested in writing.
The City does require an approval letter from a condominium or homeowners association.
Permits are required for exterior projects, such as a new addition, swimming pools, fences, decks, bay window, screened porches/stoops, and hot tubs. All exterior construction projects that require the issuance of a building permit must also meet certain zoning requirements related to height and setback distance. A sediment control or silt fence may also be required if the area under construction is adjacent to a wetland or conservation area. An Impervious Calculation Worksheet may also be required depending on the type of work to be completed. If you have a question call the building division at 407-877-5144.
Impervious calculations are the total area of the lot with a solid pad/ roof area that does not allow water to penetrate through the ground i.e., house foundation, driveways, porches, sidewalks, sheds, pergola, decks, patios and pool areas. Please note that the water surface of pools are calculated as 50% of the total area square footage. Any time a permit is being requested to extend, add on or create a solid base or solid roofed area to existing or additional structure, an Impervious Calculation worksheet must be included showing current solid areas or pavers and what is being added to existing. Each lot/ parcel has an Impervious surface percentage that can not be exceeded. Please check with the Planning & Zoning Department for what the impervious ratio is for a particular lot/ parcel.
Permits are required for interior projects including, but not limited to, new interior walls, removal o interior structural bearing walls, finished basements, finished attics, and new bathrooms. If you have a question call the building division at 407-877-5136.
A mechanical permit is required to erect, install, enlarge, alter, repair, remove, convert, or replace a mechanical heating, ventilating and air-conditioning system. This includes, but is not limited to, furnaces, heat pumps, and duct work.
An electrical permit must be obtained prior to commencement of any new or added electrical work. It is best to obtain a permit if the work will be valued over $100.00.
A plumbing permit must be obtained prior to commencement of all new plumbing work and most replacement projects. Replacement of an existing sink or toilet, for example, does not require a permit providing that no modification to the water or sewer connections is made.
A garage sale shall not last more than two consecutive days. A garage sale may not be conducted by any resident, including a representative of a resident, more than once every six months, except one garage sale may be conducted within six months from the last garage sale if the garage sale is due to the sale of the residential property. For purposes of this article, the term "resident" shall be deemed to include all or any persons within the household.
One sign with a maximum area of three square feet in size and up to six feet in height may be posted at the site of the garage sale or estate sale, and two directional signs with a maximum area of one and one-half square feet in size may be posted. The directional signs shall be placed so that the total height above the ground level does not exceed two feet and may be placed behind the street curb or beyond the edge of the street in the public right-of-way provided vehicular and pedestrian traffic is not obstructed. Sign placement is subject to removal or relocation by a property owner if placed on said property owner’s property without said property owner’s permission. Signs may not be attached to any city traffic sign or traffic control device, walls, fences, trees, or utility poles. Neighborhood or citywide garage sale events may utilize other approved signs by obtaining a special event permit. Signs not meeting the criteria described in this paragraph are subject to removal and disposal by the city. The foregoing signs shall be removed within 24 hours of the conclusion of the garage sale or estate sale as the case may be.
Additional information is available on the Municipal Code Website:
You will need to determined the address you wish to operate the business from. Once you have the address:
Residential district only allow for Administrative office to operate from the home address.
For Commercial or Industrial districts, please call the Winter Garden Zoning Department at 407-656-4111 ext. 5156 to inquire what type of business is allowed in a particular district?
For a specific address, you may be asked to complete a Land Use Review application for specific details and allowance for that particular address.
All new Commercial businesses coming into the city of Winter Garden to operate at a commercial business location must complete a Land Use Review application.
The City Planning & Zoning Department recommends that you complete and process this courtesy Land Use Review application prior to committing your a lease agreement.
The Land Use Review is a courtesy review by the Building Department, Fire Department and Planning & Zoning Department to insure that the proposed business operation can function and operate in the way that the business owner is proposing on their submitted application. The various department comments are complied into a written report and sent to the applicant via the email address provided on the application to ensure:
Please note that the Land Use Review approval process can take approximately 5-10 business days for response to applicant of the completed review. Once this review has been completed, the response email will include details and next steps, etc.
When creating a new business there are several steps that must be done and the order can be confusing.
After you have completed a LAND USE REVIEW and received an approval, then you are ready to following the below steps:
Here is the order for most business operations:
Yes, all businesses operating within the City of Winter Garden must obtain a Business Tax Receipt before opening.
This applies to:
Each business is required to register using a physical location such as a Commercial Business address or your home residence address in which you can conduct business at the physical location for purposed of an administrative office, etc. You may use the PO Box or Mailing Service Box as your mailing address for the business operation. The City of Winter Garden, will not allow a PO Box or Mailing Service Box to be used as the physical address for the business registration.
You run the risk of being in violation of City Code Chapter 66- Taxation Article IV for Business Tax Receipt (BTR)
If a business operates without a valid Business Tax Receipt, an additional penalty of 25% may be charged for each year in operation without a current, active and compliant Business Tax Receipt.
For details to city code for Business Tax Receipt, see Municode: Business Tax Receipt
Yes, it is the business owner's responsibility to renew the local business tax receipt each year in a timely manner. Renewals are due on or before September 30th of each year. The city will mail out courtesy renewal notices at the end of July each year based on the mailing address that we have on file. The business tax year cycle is from October 1st through September 30th of each year and needs to be renewed annually.
The annual fee is pro-rated after April 1st for a half-year based on date of registering the business and when the business was opened for operation/ lease agreement date.
The renewal period is August 1st - September 30th each year.
There are late penalty fees for past due renewals with the following schedule:
After you pay your business tax, the business must be inspected by the Fire Department to meet all applicable state and city code requirements for Commercial Business location only.
You will be contacted to make arrangements for your inspection. The Fire Inspector receives a listing of new businesses that have registered with the city at the end of each month and your location will be inspected approximately 3-6 weeks after you are open.
This is a tax paid to the City for operating a business within the City limits as right to do business.
This amount is determined by the type of business being operated. Please call 407-877-5144 to describe your business type and obtain the appropriate tax amount.
A business tax receipt expires every year on September 30th. Renewal notices are sent approximately two (2) months prior to expiration.
Many businesses operate under more than one of the nearly 200 business tax receipt classifications and are required to have a business tax receipt for each classification. Each location of a business is considered a separate business and requires a separate business tax receipt. Also, any state licensed professional(s) operating within the business establishment must be registered as a separate individual in addition to the business establishment.
Most businesses must have both City and County Business Tax Receipts. The City Business Tax Receipt must be obtained first with proper zoning approval. The Orange County Business Tax Department is located in the Sun Trust Building at 200 N.Orange Avenue, Suite 1600, Orlando, FL 32801. Their telephone number is 407-836-5650.
Invoices are mailed out at the end of July and are due on or before September 30th to avoid penalties of up to twenty-five percent (25%). Renewal period is August 1st - September 30 of each year that your business is in operation within a City of Winter Garden location. Failure to receive an invoice is not an excuse for nonpayment; the expiration date is on the Business Tax Receipt. The invoices are mailed out as a courtesy and it is the business owner's responsibility to renew in a timely manner prior to September 30th of each year.
No business is exempt from registering their business operation with the city of Winter Garden but various Religious, Charitable and Educational Institutions are exempt from the annual fee when they are a nonprofit and have provided the necessary documents at time of registration and/or renewal. Certain disabled persons, the aged, widows with minor dependents, disabled veterans are also eligible for discounted fee or exemptions. If you think you qualify for an exemption, please contact us at 407-877-5144 to discuss specific requirements and the amount of the exemption for your classification.
Business Tax Receipts may be transferred in one of two ways:
Commercial – Prior to submitting for a Commercial Business Tax Receipt, a Land Use Application must be applied for with the Planning & Zoning Division and upon approval the processed Land Use Review report must be attached to the Commercial Business Tax Application. This review process typically takes between 5 -10 business days. Once the Land Use Review has been approved, issues addressed, and required documents have been submitted, the Commercial Business Tax Receipt can be done right at the counter and issued immediately. Please note that Payment is collected at time of Local Business Tax Receipt is processed and must be paid as either Cash or Check made out to the City of Winter Garden.
Residential – A Residential Business Tax Receipt can be done right at the counter and issued immediately as long as all required documents have been submitted. Please note that Payment is collected at time of Local Business Tax Receipt is processed and must be paid as either Cash or Check made out to the City of Winter Garden.
The Code Enforcement Division ensures compliance with the City’s codes and ordinances relating to housing, overgrowth, open storage/care of premises, zoning, disabled/abandoned vehicles, minimum maintenance for commercial structures, signage and other City ordinances. Violators are provided time to correct violations and administrative hearings are scheduled for those that are not corrected. The Division’s Code Enforcement Officers are responsible for different areas/districts of the City.
Confidentiality is always respected and a complaint may be submitted anonymously.
Upon receiving a complaint during normal business hours, a code compliance officer will typically respond by phone or in person within 1-2 business days from received complaint.
A citizen can call 407-877-5136 or 407-656-4111 and request a status report at any time. If a Code Enforcement hearing is scheduled, the public is welcome to attend. This is a process that offers the property owner an opportunity to respond if corrections are not made within a reasonable time given by the notice of violation.
The complaint is forwarded to the code compliance officer responsible for the area of the city the violation occurred in. If the compliance officer finds a violation:
Cases where violators do not come into compliance within the provided time as designated by the Code Compliance Officer will be presented to the Code Enforcement Board.
This Board can consider imposing fines for violations that are not corrected. This process is reserved for when compliance with the City Code cannot be achieved.
Any vehicle that has any of the following can be considered an inoperable vehicle:
When weeds and grass have reached a height of eighteen (18) inches it is considered overgrown.
A residence can be used for a business address only with the issuance of a business tax receipt.
No, a commercial vehicle cannot be parked in a residential area unless parked in the garage out of site for overnight parking.
Recreational vehicles, such as motor homes, trailers, boats, boat trailers, jet skis, etc., must be parked to the rear of the house. If you own a corner lot, it must be parked to the rear of the house not on the two sides that face the street.
Code Compliance Officers will always try and get voluntary compliance from the resident of the property first. Most rental agreements require the resident to maintain the property and, in the event the resident does not voluntarily come into compliance, the Code Compliance Officer will research public records to locate and contact the owner of record for the property. Contact will be made with the owner of record to notify the owner of the violation.
Contact the inspector that served the notice. The Code Compliance Officer’s telephone number is located at the bottom of the notice. Code Enforcement encourages you to call, not only if you have received a violation but, to answer any questions you may have. Code Enforcement is here to work with the citizens to insure that our community will remain a highly valued place to reside. If you have further questions, please call Code Enforcement at 407-877-5136.
City ordinance makes it illegal to allow grass or weeds to grow more than eighteen (18) inches tall. (This does not apply to land on which the natural vegetation has not been removed.) Citizens should contact the Code Enforcement division and provide information on the property. An officer will inspect the property and contact the owner of record. The owner is given ten (10) days, upon receipt of the notice or posting, to have the property mowed. However, if the owner of record cannot be located or does not mow the property, a pre-qualified contractor will mow or clean the property at a predetermined cost. The City will invoice the owner of record for the work done, plus administrative costs, and a lien will be placed on the property
Call 407-877-5136, or go to the Code Enforcement Division in downtown City Hall (300 W. Plant Street) before the deadline has expired, and discuss the circumstances with the Code Compliance Officer. Based on the circumstances the deadline may be extended.
If the invoice is not paid within ten (10) days after the invoice was mailed to the owner of record, the City records a lien upon the subject property. After ninety (90) days if the lien is still outstanding, the City may start a foreclosure proceeding.
No. Residential zoning districts do not allow for chickens, roosters, goats, and all other farm animals.
However, the city does allow for chickens only, if the resident follows stick code requirements and attends training classes to obtain a restricted permit for a limited period of time.
Please see a Code Compliance Officer by calling 407-877-5136, or go to the Code Enforcement Division in downtown City Hall (300 W. Plant Street) for specific details to obtain a chicken permit.
Any items, objects, materials, that are not properly stored, placed in containers or are spread all over the property in a disorderly manner.
Community Development Department provides for one-stop permitting and a variety of community development services related to the use of private property in the City and consists of the following departments:
Building includes permitting and inspection services, all building permit reviews along with other trade permits, building inspections and architectural plan review.
Business Tax Services includes processing new business locating into the City, annual renewals and business location transfers and residential garage sale permits.
Code Enforcement includes zoning compliance for residential and non-residential areas of the City, processes violations for compliance and the presenting of cases to the Code Enforcement Board.
Planning and Zoning includes zoning, comprehensive planning, future land use and redevelopment, development review, impact fee calculations, downtown architectural reviews, transportation planning, addressing, Census, and general planning services. Please click here for the City's zoning ordinances.
Community Development Boards provide staff or support to the following City Boards and Committees:
Go to the Garbage & Recycling page of the City’s website; scroll down to the section called “Find Your Collection Days.”
Please call 407-656-2256 to request one. There is no charge.
The City collects large or bulky items once a week (this does not include electronics or appliances; see the next FAQ below). To find your collection day, go the Garbage & Recycling page of the City’s website. There is no need to call in advance to schedule a pickup.
These items are picked up on request, with pickups scheduled typically on Wednesdays and Saturdays. Please call 407-656-2256 to request a pickup.
No. Please bring these items to one of the Orange County facilities listed below.
Porter Transfer Station1326 Good Homes RoadOrlando, FL 32818(407) 836-6601Hours may vary; please call ahead.
McLeod Road Transfer Station5000 L. B. McLeod RoadOrlando, FL 32811(407) 836-6601House may vary; please call ahead.
Set them out on your large item collection day. Do the same with oversized cardboard boxes from furniture and large appliance deliveries.
The City collects a maximum of four car tires per household, per year. The City does not collect truck tires. Please call 407-656-2256 to schedule a pickup.
Although oversights do occasionally occur, following are the most common reasons:
• It was not set out on time. Please place your items or container out at the curb either the evening before or by 7:00 am the latest on the day of collection.
• It was blocked by a vehicle or other obstruction.
• The container is overweight, and the truck cannot lift it.
• Improper items placed inside the recycling cart (e.g., yard waste, household trash, Styrofoam, pizza boxes, and plastic bags).
• Recyclables were set out in plastic bags. They should be loose in the cart.
• There is an excessive amount of debris. Please call 407-656-2256 to inquire, as the City charges a fee for the collection of oversized piles. These piles are picked up and the fee applied only with the prior approval of the account holder.
Please wait until the morning after your collection day to report a missed pickup.
Collection times may vary due to the weather (routes take longer to run when it is raining), the availability of equipment and personnel (a truck may have broken down or someone might have called in sick), or excessive volumes. Please wait until the morning after your pickup day to report a missed pickup.
The City does not collect propane tanks. Please return them to the store where they were purchased (e.g., Ace, Lowe’s, or Home Depot). Propane tanks are also accepted at the following Orange County facilities:
Porter Transfer Station (up to 20 lbs.)1326 Good Homes RoadOrlando, FL 32818(407) 836-6601House may vary; please call ahead.
Orange County Landfill (up to 100 lbs.)5901 Young Pine RoadOrlando, FL 32829(407) 836-6601Hours may vary; please call ahead.
The City does collect empty helium tanks. Please break off the valve to indicate that it is empty. Set it out on your large item collection day.
Technically, all plastics can be recycled. However, not all are recycled because there is no economically feasible market for them. Refer to our list of What’s Recyclable, What’s Not.
Both natural and artificial trees are collected on the day yard waste and large items are collected in your neighborhood. Please remove all decorations and lights from your tree prior to setting it out for collection.
No, burning garbage is illegal and can be dangerous. Breathing in smoke from burning garbage can cause or worsen asthma, bronchitis, and emphysema and may damage children's lungs. Burning plastic also releases many cancer-causing agents into the air that you and your neighbors breathe.
Don’t blink! The garage will be finished in September of 2016 - only a few months away.
Onsite construction happens quickly because much of the garage uses precast pieces, meaning the walls, stairs and other large structures were custom made offsite earlier this year. The pieces will be delivered and put in place with large cranes at the exact time they’re needed in the construction sequence.
There will be three levels: ground, middle and rooftop. There will be a parapet wall surrounding the roof to shield the view of cars from the street.
Yes, the charging stations that came out of the parking lot will be reinstalled inside the parking garage.
No, the garage parking will be free and open to the public.
No, we need every inch for parking. When complete, we’ll have 528 parking spaces conveniently located in the center of downtown.
Yes! When the wall panels were formed at the manufacturing facility in Apopka, the bricks were cast directly into the exterior wall surfaces, along with rebar & conduit inside the walls, and steel plates & fasteners on the interior surfaces.
Zoning designates permitted uses of land based on mapped zones which separate one set of land use from another. Zoning laws typically specify the areas in which residential, industrial, recreational or commercial activities may take place.
R-1 residential zone might allow only single-family detached homes as opposed to duplexes or apartment complexes.
C-1 commercial zone might be zoned to permit only certain commercial or industrial uses in one jurisdiction, but permit a mix of housing and businesses in another jurisdiction.
The Future Land Use Element sets forth the physical plan for the future development of the City of Winter Garden. It also describes the existing land use categories in the City and provides evidence of the City’s development character. The Future Land Use Element further describes the appropriate location for future uses and promulgates the policies regulating the location and development of all land uses. The Future Land Use Element sets forth the density and intensity of land uses appropriate for all locations with the City.
Generally, no structure can be placed into the building setbacks of a property. The zoning designation sets forth the setbacks of a specific property.
In the R-1 zoning district, the front setback is typically 30’ and side setbacks are 10’ from the property line on each side, respectively. Therefore, no structure may be place outside or closer than 30’ or 10’ from the property line.
There are setbacks for all sides of a property (e.g.,front, side, rear). In some cases, the Planning & Zoning Board may grant a “variance” from the designated setbacks. For more information on variances, please see “What is a variance and how can I get one?”
Please contact the Planning and Zoning Department at 407-656-4111 ext. 5156 for specific setbacks for your property address.
Variance means the relaxation of certain terms of the zoning code where such variance will not be contrary to the public interest and where, owing to conditions peculiar to the property and not the result of the actions of the applicant, a literal enforcement of zoning code would result in unnecessary and undue hardship. Most variances are given for setbacks.
For example, a property owner would like to build an addition to her home in the backyard but the zoning code requires a 25’ rear yard setback. The home is at the setback line already and therefore an addition cannot be built without a relaxation of the zoning code. The homeowner would apply for a variance with a public hearing before the Planning & Zoning Board (via the City’s Planning Division), and the Planning & Zoning Board would either allow or deny the specific request.
Please contact the Planning & Zoning Division at 407-656-4111 ext. 5156 for any additional information. If interested in applying for a variance, click here for Variance Petition
For new businesses, prior to applying for the Business Tax Receipt, it is required that the applicant fill out and submit, a “Land Use Permit Application.” This permit confirms the zoning of the property and determines if the use is compatible with the zoning district. In some cases, a special exception permit is required. These are conditional uses whereby if certain qualifications are met (e.g., use is compatible with surrounding uses, will not create traffic hazards or parking problems, etc.), the Planning & Zoning Board, after a public hearing, will either approve or deny the specific request.
Click here for Land Use Review application on Business Tax page of website. The Land Use Review process general takes between 5-10 business days for review from the Building Department, Fire Department, and Planning and Zoning Department. The response comments will come back to the applicant and property owner through an email with direction and next steps, once the determination has been completed.
Please contact the Planning & Zoning Division at 407-656-4111 ext. 5156 for more information.
You can find the property details on the Orange County Property Appraisers website at ocpafl.org. If the property lists "Municipality" as Winter Garden, then yes your address is within the city limits.
You may contact the Planning & Zoning Division for this information as well at 407-656-4111 ext. 5156.
Please contact the Planning & Zoning Division at 407-656-4111 ext. 5156 for a copy of Division 2 City Code Section 102-56 for sign code requirements and standards.
You may view this code directly at the municipal corporation website at municode for Division 2 City Code Section 102-56.com.
You must also apply for a sign permit from the Building Division. Sign permit details.
You can view the code directly at the municipal corporation website at municode.com for City Code Section 118-1386, “Off Street Parking”; Or
please contact the Planning & Zoning Division at 407-656-4111 ext. 5156.
You can view the code directly at the municipal corporation website at municode for Winter Garden..
Contact the Building Division 407-656-4111 ext. 5136 for the fence permit requirements and permit fees. Refer to the fence setback.
You may annex into the City of Winter Garden as long as your property is contiguous with property presently within the City (it can be across the street). Citywide map
You may click here for Petition for Annexation, Zoning, and/or Future Land Use Map Amendment.
While you may own the land itself, the City has reserved the right to use the land within easements to provide space to convey existing or future utilities such as water, sewer, electricity, telephones, cable, etc. or for storm water drainage. If you desire to build a structure in a City easement such as a pool, pool deck, wall, shed, etc. you will need to submit an Application for Street or Easement Vacations, obtain letters of support from cable, electric, gas, and telephone companies, and receive final approval from the City Commission. The application fee is $250.00 and submitted to Planning and Zoning department for review and approval.
Click here for Application for Street Or Easement Vacations
An average of twenty-five (25’) feet with a minimum of fifteen (15’) feet. Vegetative buffers from a wetland, lake or creek to any proposed lot or normal high water line road must be provided or maintained for all new development (Ref. 94-132.5). It is best to review your property survey for easements, high water line and buffers. Please consult with the Planning and Zoning department at 407-656-4111 ext. 5156 for specifics pertaining to your property setbacks.
You must submit a Sidewalk Cafes and Merchandise Display Application and have it approved by Planning and Zoning prior to being able to display merchandise and/or have outside dining area on a public right of way. A $100.00 fee is required for outdoor dining and a $50.00 fee for outdoor merchandise display. The permit must be displayed. Tables, chairs, umbrellas, merchandise, benches, trash receptacles, signs, and any other sidewalk obstruction should not be placed within five (5’) feet of a pedestrian or vehicular passage. See Ordinance 02-24 for further information. Municode Article VII - Sidewalk Cafes & Merhcandise Display
Click here for Sidewalk Cafes and Merchandise Display Application
One must apply for a Dog Friendly Dining Permit through the Planning and Zoning Department and submit application fee of $100.00. A fence or barrier should be provided. Dogs should be on a leash and under reasonable control at all times. At least one sign identifying the location, rules and regulations shall be posted in the designated outdoor portion of the public food service establishment.
See Ordinance 08-37 for further information. Municode Article XII - Dog Friendly Dining Program.
Click here for Dog Friendly Dining Permit Application. Please contact Planning and Zoning at 407-656-4111 ext. 5156 with questions.
Restaurants or vendors licensed in accordance with F.S. 563.02(1)(a) of F.S. 564.02(1)(a) shall be permitted to serve alcoholic beverages between the hours of 11:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m.; however, licensees for the sale of alcoholic beverages in the city shall, on the date of New Year’s eve (December 31st), be permitted to remain open for such sales for one hour after the regular closing time established by the Code. No alcoholic beverages shall be sold, consumed or served or permitted to be served or consumed in any place holding a state license between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. It is unlawful for anyone to possess, consume or display an open container of alcoholic beverage on public sidewalks, streets or other public property except approved by the City Commission. Except for restaurants, any place of business in which intoxicating liquors, wines or beers are sold or furnished at retail by the glass or drink could be located within 1,200 feet from a school or an established church.
This is a building, structure, or parcel of property legally established prior to the revision, adoption or amendment of the current chapter in the Code of Ordinances.
Please contact Planning and Zoning at 407-656-4111 ext. 5156 if you have further questions regarding legally non-confirming building, structure or parcel.
A preliminary plat shows the basic layout of the proposed subdivision, including lots, roads and major utilities. City Staff reviews and verifies the lot sizes, the street dimensions and the general location of utilities. At this stage the Planning Department requires traffic concurrency studies. City Staff also looks for wetland problems, floodplains, road configuration, and any other big items that need to be identified early in the development. At this stage, the City negotiates any cost sharing for any major infrastructure improvements or right of way dedication. The applicant does not need to perform full engineering at this point, but they need to have enough to ensure the ponds are sized correctly, the gravity sewer will work properly and the overall subdivision will function properly. Preliminary plats are reviewed by the Development Review Committee (DRC), the Planning and Zoning Board and receive final approval from the City Commission.
Click here for Subdivision Preliminary Plat Application.
Construction plans are reviewed for compliance with the approved preliminary plat and the City Codes for roads and utility specifications. This is when the applicant submits multi-paged construction documents identifying details on drainage, water, sewer, open spaces, recreation areas, alleys and road construction. Specific items to be reviewed include proper lot drainage, pipe sizing and location, proper road construction, and proper sized retention ponds and stormwater calculations. These plans are approved by the Development Review Committee (DRC).
Click here for Application for Construction Plans for a Subdivision.
The final plat is drawn by a registered surveyor or engineer. Along with the Homeowners Docs, recent title opinion, release of liens, and other required documents, the final plat is reviewed by City Staff, the City Attorney, and the City Surveyor for compliance with the platting requirements in both the City Code and the Florida Statutes. At this time, the City ensures that either the entire infrastructure is completed or the applicant is willing to post an appropriate performance bond. The Engineering Department completes the final walk though inspection and develops a “punch list” of uncompleted or damaged items that need to be replaced. Our code does allow for a developer to bond the entire infrastructure. Final plats are reviewed by the Development Review Committee (DRC), the Planning and Zoning Board and receive final approval from the City Commission.
Click here for Final Plat Application.
A site plan identifies details on drainage, water, sewer, boundary lines, existing or proposed easements, parking areas, buildings, and road construction. A site plan is required for all proposed industrial, commercial, or multi-family development that adds more than 300 sq.ft. of building or 500 sq.ft. of asphalt/concrete and for all new or alterations of communication towers. Specific items to be reviewed include proper lot drainage, pipe sizing and location, proper road construction, and proper sized retention ponds and stormwater calculations. Site plans less than or equal to 25,000 square feet shall require review and approval by the Development Review Committee (DRC). Site plans greater than 25,000 square feet of land area shall also require City Commission approval after DRC review and approval. Site plans expire 365 days after the approval date if building permits for the principal structure have not been issued. The City Engineer may approve an extension one time for a period not to exceed an additional 365 days.
Click here for Application for Site Plan Approval.
The Development Review Committee (DRC) reviews applications for subdivision plats, site plans, planned developments, construction plans, development agreements and other applications that the Committee Chairman determines warrant review. The committee makes determinations or recommendations for approval, approval with conditions, or denial. The committee meets the second and fourth Wednesday of the month at City Hall. Voting members are the Community Development Director, Assistant to the City Manager for Public Services, City Engineer, Economic Development Director and Building Official; other members are the City Manager, the City Attorneys, the Planning Consultant, and the Fire Marshall.
The FEMA maps displays many communities/properties within the City located in a “Zone A”; for such properties mortgage companies will require flood insurance. Mortgage companies or insurance companies may waive the flood insurance requirement if they receive “Letters of Map Amendment/Revision” (LOMA/LOMR), including the property in question. The City has copies of “Letters of Map Amendment/Revision” (LOMA/LOMR), for most of the communities with the City, and we can provide the residents with a copy.
Please contact the Engineering Department at 407-656-4111 ext. 2256 for assistance.
The base flood elevation is the water-surface elevation of the 1% annual chance flood (100-year flood). The 1% annual chance is a storm event having 1% probability of being equaled or exceeded in any given year. In most cases the City is able to provide this elevation to the residents.
Applications may be obtained from the Police Department. Hiring is done on an as needed basis. For more information contact Recruiting at 407-877-5499.
Call the Police Department at 407-656-3636, ext. 4058 and explain your situation. Your complaint will be recorded and efforts will be made to monitor the traffic in your area.
A Radar device sends out a radio signal which is reflected off the target vehicle and back to the device. The device then calculates the speed of the vehicle and displays it in miles per hour to the operator. The Radar devices have built in calibration systems to ensure their accuracy. Each Radar device is tested each day they are in use. Despite popular belief, the radar operator is not required to show the offender the radar speed.
A Laser speed measuring device, unlike Radar, works using a light beam, which travels in a very narrow beam, and in a straight line, rather than a radio wave. Due to the very narrow beam, the Laser speed measuring device can be used to pick a specific target vehicle out of a group of vehicles. The Laser beam is reflected off the target vehicle and back to the device. The device then calculates the speed of the vehicle and displays it in miles per hour to the operator. The citation will reflect the speed you were traveling along with the distance from the device at the time it was checked.
If you received a traffic ticket (citation) that you feel was unjustified or because of circumstances beyond your control, you may contest your traffic ticket in Court. You are welcome to call the Orange County Court House at 407-667-6240, or you may stop by the Clerk of the Court, which is located at: Orange County Services Building475 West Story Road Ocoee, Fl 34761
The Winter Garden Police Department, and other public safety entities in Orange County, utilizes the enhanced 911 system. When the dispatcher picks up the phone your address and phone number is immediately displayed on a screen. Cellular telephones do not display the exact address, however newer cellular phones will display a general area the call is coming from.
Contact the Police Department at 407-656-3636 and request to speak to the Crime Prevention Officer, who will then provide you with the information.
If you have been involved in a police incident (excluding crashes), you may obtain a copy of the report from our Records Management Division located at the Police Department, 3 working days after the date of the incident. Records business hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.
If you are a party involved in a traffic crash, an insurance company or an attorney you may obtain a copy of the crash report online by visiting the Buy Crash Website. The fee for a crash report is $5. Note: access to crash reports is statutorily restricted during the first 60 days to involved persons, insurance companies and attorneys.
At any given time, police officers are patrolling the streets. The Winter Garden Police Department relies on its citizens to alert us to any unusual situations. Anytime someone calls, a dispatcher will take the information, ask questions, decide on what / whom to send and the urgency of the call. We will respond to every call for service, however when all the officers are busy, calls are answered based on priority. You may report a crime or suspicious activity and remain anonymous. View Police Department contact information.
Call the Police Department non-emergency phone number at 407-656-3636. We will have an officer respond to talk with you and assess your situation. In some cases the officer may be able to stop your problem just by talking with the person responsible for making the calls or you may elect to sign a complaint and let the matter be settled in court.
We are currently not offering fingerprint services due to COVID-19. Please check back for continued updates.
The Police Department mailing address is:251 W Plant StreetWinter Garden, FL 34787
The Fax number is 407-877-0166.
Identity Theft involves acquiring pieces of someone's personal information such as:
The information is used to assume the individual's identity. This information allows the Identity Thief to commit many types of fraud, which include purchasing automobiles, applying for loans, credit cards, apartment rentals, and establishing phone and utility services.
As part of our ongoing commitment to keep our citizens informed about possible threats to their financial security, we would like to provide you with information regarding the growing problem of Identity Theft. View our Identity Theft Prevention Guidelines that outlines ways to keep your information secure.
View the Identity Theft Victim Assistance and State & Federal Resources pages.
We're open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.
We're located at:251 West Plant StreetWinter Garden, FL 34787
We can be reached by phone at 407-656-3636, ext. 2235.
Just send us a letter stating that you no longer want the property and we will dispose of the items for you. If the item is sold at auction, however, you are not entitled to any of the proceeds.
Yes, providing that certain conditions are met. Check our Claiming Your Property section for information on these conditions.
The return of firearms requires special documentation. Check the Firearms Property section for details.
Yes, appointments are arranged Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Calling ahead to 407-656-3636, ext. 2235 is done to ensure that someone is available to you, and that your property is ready for release. Please have your case number available.
Yes, you will need to bring a valid picture identification with your correct address.
Yes, you may assign another person to retrieve your property with a notarized letter of authorization and photo identification. The letter must be addressed to the Winter Garden Police Department and include:
Property will only be released to a parent or guardian, who must show legal guardianship proof.
Different types of property are held for different lengths of time.
Statute of limitations may vary depending on the seriousness of the crime. Additionally, some items can be released pursuant to a court order or authorization from the State Attorneys Office.
Property which remains unclaimed by a legal owner will be disposed of by destruction, conversion to City property, donation to charity, public auction, or returned to the finder if a claim was made when the property was recovered.
Any questions not answered here you are more than welcome to contact us directly at:
Winter Garden Police DepartmentProperty and Evidence Unit251 West Plant StreetWinter Garden, FL 34787
Ivory SmithPhone: 407-656-3636, ext. 5486 Email Ivory Smith
You will have access to Little Hall only during the contracted hours of your rental. There is no free time given for setup or decoration. There is one free hour given after the rental for cleanup and tear down.
All decorations must go on table tops or be free standing. No items may be attached to the walls, ceiling or floors.
No, both are needed to reserve a rental.
No, pavilions are not included with any rental of Little Hall. The park grounds are open to the public.
Yes! Tables and chairs can be used on the screened porch but not outside of the building. Any furniture that is brought onto the screened porch must be brought back inside Little Hall before the event has ended.
Our address for payments or new service related matters is:
City of Winter Garden
300 W. Plant Street
Winter Garden Fl. 34787
Residential Rate Schedule
Monthly Service Charge $ 8.8381
Consumption 0-10,000 Gallons $ 3.4643 per thousand
Monthly Service Charge $ 6.1773
Consumption 0-10,000 Gallons $ 1.0330 per thousand
10,001 – 15,000 Gallons $ 1.2730
Above 15,000 Gallons $ 1.5339
Consumption 0-5,000 Gallons $ 1.2730 per thousand
5,001-25,000 Gallons $ 1.5339
25,001- Above Gallons $ 1.8840
Consumption 0-13,000 Gallons $ 1.2730 per thousand
13,001-62,000 Gallons $ 1.5339
62,501- Above Gallons $ 1.8840
Consumption 0-40,000 Gallons $ 1.2730 per thousand
40,001-200,000 Gallons $ 1.5339
201,001- Above Gallons $ 1.8840
3” Meter & Larger
Monthly Service Charge $ 6.1773
Consumption 0-75,000 Gallons $ 1.2730 per thousand
75,001-375,000 Gallons $ 1.5339
375,001- Above Gallons $ 1.8840
We are open from 7:30 am - 5:30 pm Monday through Friday. We are closed on the weekend.
Payments can be made using any of the following methods:
There is a $1.50 fee for the last 2 options.
Yes, the customer base rate is $42.89 per month regardless is the house is vacant or occupied.
The late fee amount is $5.00.
Service cut –off dates for non-payment change monthly, the dates are located on the bottom of your bill in the message center block.
Yes, the service charge is $15.00 plus $25.00 if you have reclaimed water service. These fees apply whether or not your services have been disconnected. This charge will be billed on the next monthly utility bill.
Upon receipt of payment, restoration of services usually occurs on the same day between the hours of 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm. Please note that there could be a 24 hour window for service restoration depending on when the payment is received.
Contractors can request or obtain a construction hydrant meter by contacting the Utility Billing Division at 407-656-4100. Click here for the Temporary Construction Hydrant Meter Sign-out Agreement